Partner webinar: Handpump Functionality Monitoring - Getting It Right Can Help Ensure Sustainability

13 Feb, 2018

 

 

©UNICEF/UNI185027/Cherkaoui

©UNICEF/UNI185027/Cherkaoui

 

Handpump Functionality Monitoring – Getting It Right Can Help Ensure Sustainability

Wednesday, 14 February from 9:00 to 10:00 EST (New York time)/ 14:00 to 15:00 GMT (London time)/ 15:00 to 16:00 CET (Paris time)

Click here to register. Please note that registration is limited. 

In March 2016, The Water Institute at UNC published WaSH Policy Research Digest #3. The policy implications explored included a requirement to collect detailed functionality data that allow analysis of systematic problems, to use standard definitions and methods, and to establish robust systems that provide rapid repairs and keep downtime to a minimum. Since the publication, there has been considerable activity on the subject of handpump functionality monitoring. This includes work within the SWA partnership to develop a global standard for monitoring functionality of rural water supply, and research under the Unlocking the Potential of Groundwater for the Poor (UPGro) project.  

This webinar will re-examine the policy implications presented in the Digest, and update participants on current work on handpump functionality monitoring.
 
The webinar will begin with opening remarks by Jamie Bartram of The Water Institute at UNC, and Sean Furey of RWSN.
 
Panelists:

  •        Richard Carter, Consultant
  •        Vinny Casey, WaterAid
  •        Alan MacDonald, BGS 
  •        Engineer Robert Kirya Mutiibwa, Ministry of Water, Uganda (tbc)
  •        Liz Jordan, USAID
  •        Moderated by Clarissa Brocklehurst, The Water Institute at UNC


Join us on Wednesday, 14 February from 9:00 to 10:00 EST/ 14:00 to 15:00 GMT.  

To submit a question to the panelists in advance, email: 
swgeorge@email.unc.edu